Skip to content

Tapo P110 vs Kasa EP25 in Canada: Which Energy-Monitoring Smart Plug Fits?

Tapo P110 vs Kasa EP25 in Canada: compare energy monitoring, ecosystem fit, setup and smart-home compatibility before choosing.

Products compared

Current picks at a glance

Price-neutral comparison based on verified product identity, official specifications, and buyer fit. Check Amazon.ca for current price and availability.

Tapo-centric energy tracking
  • Best for: Tapo-centric energy tracking
  • Why choose it: Energy monitoring, schedules and direct Tapo app workflow.
  • Watch out for: Hardware/version specifications can vary by region.
Energy monitoring
Yes
Wi-Fi
2.4 GHz
North American max load
15 A / 1800 W general-use/resistive

Check current details on Amazon.ca

Apple Home and Kasa households
  • Best for: Apple Home and Kasa households
  • Why choose it: Energy monitoring plus TP-Link-documented HomeKit setup for the exact EP25.
  • Watch out for: Confirm pack count and hardware version on the listing.
Energy monitoring
Yes
HomeKit setup
Documented by TP-Link Canada
Ecosystem
Kasa

Check current details on Amazon.ca

Amazon.ca prices and availability can change. Hamejur does not publish cached marketplace prices in no-API mode.

Work & Smart Living · Canada

Quick answer: Choose the Tapo P110 when Tapo energy monitoring, schedules and a straightforward Alexa/Google/SmartThings workflow are the priority. Choose the Kasa EP25 when Apple Home/HomeKit integration is important alongside energy monitoring.

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, Hamejur may earn from qualifying purchases. Product identity is verified separately from live price and availability.

Home energy dashboard illustrating the value of monitoring electricity use

Home energy-monitoring context. Photo: Siân Wynn-Jones / Unsplash.

Tapo P110 vs Kasa EP25 at a glance

Decision pointTapo P110Kasa EP25
Energy monitoringYesYes
Wi-Fi2.4 GHzWi-Fi smart plug
Apple Home/HomeKitNot the reason to choose this modelExplicitly supported by TP-Link setup documentation
Alexa / GoogleSupportedSupported through Kasa ecosystem
Best fitTapo-centric energy trackingApple Home/Kasa households
Editorial illustration of Tapo app energy monitoring and Kasa EP25 Apple HomeKit switching.
Editorial illustration, not a manufacturer photograph or hands-on test.

What matters more than the brand name?

Both plugs can automate an ordinary outlet and both have energy-monitoring positioning. The meaningful split is ecosystem. TP-Link documents the P110 around the Tapo app, energy statistics, schedules, remote control and Alexa/Google/SmartThings compatibility. TP-Link Canada’s EP25 support material specifically documents HomeKit setup, making it the more relevant comparison point for Apple Home users.

Illustrative energy-monitoring chart for Tapo and Kasa app workflows, not live usage data.
Editorial illustration, not a manufacturer photograph or hands-on test.

Tapo P110: best for Tapo-centric energy tracking

TP-Link documents real-time and historical energy monitoring, electricity-rate input, schedules, auto-off and a compact body. Its North American specification lists 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and a maximum general-use/resistive load of 15 A / 1800 W. Hardware versions vary by region, so match the listing and device version rather than borrowing specifications from another market.

  • Choose it if: you already use Tapo or want energy data plus straightforward schedules.
  • Watch for: do not assume every P110 hardware version or regional listing has identical specifications.

Kasa EP25: best for Apple Home integration

TP-Link Canada maintains a current EP25 support path and explicitly documents HomeKit-enabled setup. That makes the EP25 the clearer fit when an Apple Home household wants a compact Kasa plug with energy-monitoring capability rather than building around Tapo alone.

  • Choose it if: HomeKit/Apple Home is a deciding ecosystem requirement.
  • Watch for: confirm the exact pack and hardware version on the Canadian listing before purchase.

Which one fits your setup?

Tapo app already runs your home

The P110 keeps device control and energy history in the same Tapo workflow.

Apple Home is central

The EP25 has the stronger documented fit because TP-Link provides a HomeKit-specific setup path for this exact model.

You only need basic on/off automation

Either may be more capability than necessary. Buy around ecosystem compatibility and the exact Canadian listing, not feature count alone.

Editorial illustration of a smart plug powering a small desk fan in a dry indoor room.
Editorial illustration, not a manufacturer photograph or hands-on test.

Buyer questions

Do both plugs monitor energy?

Yes, both exact marketplace identities are positioned as energy-monitoring smart plugs.

Does the P110 require a hub?

TP-Link documents direct Wi-Fi setup through the Tapo app rather than a proprietary hub.

Which is more relevant for Apple Home?

The EP25, because TP-Link Canada explicitly provides HomeKit setup documentation for it.

Can I use a smart plug with any appliance?

No. Always stay within the exact model’s rated load and the appliance manufacturer’s requirements.

Compare another smart-plug decision in Kasa HS103P2 vs Tapo P125M, browse Work & Smart Living, or see Chamberlain myQ vs Meross MSG100.

Sources and method

Technical claims were mapped to current TP-Link/Tapo documentation, including TP-Link Canada support pages for both exact models. Amazon.ca identity was checked by public-web evidence on September 30, 2026. Live price, ratings and availability were not used as editorial evidence.

Check current listings

Compare the current Amazon.ca product pages

Use the product pages to confirm the exact variant, current price and availability before ordering.

Tapo-centric energy trackingTP-Link Tapo P110View TP-Link Tapo P110 on Amazon.ca
Apple Home and Kasa householdsTP-Link Kasa EP25View TP-Link Kasa EP25 on Amazon.ca

Prices on Amazon.ca

Prices change often, check Amazon for the current price.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do both plugs actually monitor energy use?

Yes. Both the Tapo P110 and the Kasa EP25 are positioned as energy-monitoring smart plugs. The P110 adds real-time and historical energy statistics in the Tapo app, including an electricity-rate input so you can estimate running costs.

Does the Tapo P110 need a hub?

No. TP-Link documents direct Wi-Fi setup through the Tapo app, with no proprietary hub required. It runs on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi like the EP25.

Which plug should I buy for Apple Home and HomeKit?

The Kasa EP25. TP-Link Canada specifically documents HomeKit setup for this exact model, which makes it the clearer fit for an Apple Home household. HomeKit is not the reason to choose the P110.

Can I plug any appliance into one of these?

No. Stay within the plug's rated load and the appliance manufacturer's requirements. The P110's North American specification is a maximum general-use and resistive load of 15 A / 1800 W, and high-draw appliances deserve extra caution with any smart plug.

Does the Tapo P110 work with Alexa or Google Assistant?

Yes. TP-Link documents Alexa, Google and SmartThings compatibility for the P110 alongside its Tapo app workflow of schedules and auto-off timers. The EP25 covers Alexa and Google through the Kasa ecosystem.

Which app will I live in, Tapo or Kasa?

That is the real decision in this comparison. If your home already runs on Tapo, the P110 keeps control and energy history in one workflow. If your home is built around Kasa or Apple Home, the EP25 fits without adding a second ecosystem.

Compare side by side

CriterionTP-Link Tapo P110TP-Link Kasa EP25
Price in Canadanot stated, check Amazon.canot stated, check Amazon.ca
Energy monitoringYes, real-time and historical, rate inputYes
App / ecosystemTapoKasa
Apple Home / HomeKitNot the reason to choose this modelDocumented by TP-Link Canada
Voice assistantsAlexa, Google, SmartThingsAlexa, Google via Kasa
Wi-Fi2.4 GHz2.4 GHz
Max load15 A / 1800 W general-use and resistive (North America)not stated
Hub requiredNo, direct Wi-Fi via Tapo appnot stated
Schedules and auto-offYesnot stated
Warrantynot statednot stated
Best forTapo-centric energy trackingApple Home and Kasa households

Related comparisons

Keep comparing

Related guides for your next decision

Continue with closely related Smart Home comparisons selected by category, shared product topics, and reader intent.